This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
2019 IMA Board of Directors Slate of Candidates
Share |

We are pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the upcoming IMA Board of Director Elections for the term 2019-2022. The following nominations have been brought forward by the IMA Nominating Committee and will be voted on during IMA’s 76th World Magnesium Conference in Budapest.

Slate of Candidates

Wade T. Conner
Co-Owner and Chief Executive Officer, Trinity Metals
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Motivation for Nomination: My motivation for being on the IMA Board is to give back to the industry that has given so much to me and my family and to encourage the recycling of Post-Consumer Magnesium Scrap in an environmentally friendly way.

Hartmut Fischer
Managing Director, Andreas-Stihl AG & Co. KG Magnesium Druckguss
Pruem-Weinsheim, Germany

Motivation for Nomination: I strongly believe that the magnesium industry needs a strong voice to stakeholders and government authorities. When IMA conducts studies of general interest, our industry should share the expenditure throughout the network. Networking and collaboration within our industry, universities, and magnesium suppliers is very important. I cannot hope that every time other people will do “my job”, therefore I am willing to bring my influence for IMA for the benefit of both STIHL and IMA.

John M. Haack
President, Magpro LLC
Camden, Tennessee, USA

Motivation for Nomination: Magpro is the only processor of low grade magnesium scraps in America, and the IMA would be well served having greater representation from this side of the industry on the Board. Also, I have been involved with most of the scrap suppliers around the world - many of which have no contact with the IMA - and I think I could help to enlarge and enhance IMA membership by bringing some of these contacts into the organization. My family has also had the longest involvement in the magnesium industry of any of the IMA’s existing members, with my father’s first plant being opened in the mid 1940’s.

Dr. Dietmar Letzig
Department Head of Magnesium Wrought Alloys
Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, MagIC - Magnesium Innovation Centre
Geesthacht, Germany

Motivation for Nomination: Contribution to promote Magnesium for use in transportation industry, to support Industry (Semi-finished producers) from Researchers point of view, Technology transfer from lab- and pilot plant scale to industrial application, enhance strong interaction with applying Industry, and linkage between Semi-finished producer (like Korean producers) and OEMs in Europe.

Todd Olson
Chief Executive Officer, Twin City Die Castings Co
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Motivation for Nomination: Growing the magnesium industry by promoting the use of magnesium as a safe, light weight alternative to other materials.

The election will take place in-person during the Annual Membership Meeting on Thursday, May 16, 2019. There are 4 open seats available for election so members will cast votes via paper ballot for no more than 4 individuals. Only one individual per Regular Member Organization is entitled to vote in the election. Proxies may be sent to the Annual Members meeting to cast the member vote.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Ralph A. Gervasi, CAE
Executive Vice President
International Magnesium Association
Direct: 847-447-1702

International Magnesium Association

International Magnesium Association
1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252  |  Saint Paul, Minnesota 55114 USA
P: +1 651.379.7305  |  F: +1 651.290.2266  |  E:
Copyright © 2020 International Magnesium Association (IMA). All rights reserved.
Email Deliverability | Privacy Policy | Site Map

LinkedIn Logo    LinkedIn Logo Member Login